Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Sandra Oh Joins Canada's Walk Of Fame

Canada’s Walk of Fame announced today that Sandra Oh will be one of this year's inductees.

Each inductee will receive their tribute on Saturday, October 1 in a ceremony at Toronto’s Elgin Theatre. Their names will be cemented into the sidewalks of Toronto’s Entertainment District.

The Canada’s Walk of Fame televised Awards will be broadcast nationally in October on Global and Slice™.

About this year's inductees, which also include actor Ryan Reynolds, musician Burton Cummings, comedian/actor Russell Peters, tennis player Daniel Nestor, astronaut Dr. Roberta Bondar and late author Mordecai Richler:

The class of 2011 includes seven new inspiring and celebrated Canadians who have excelled in their fields and are a part of Canada’s legacy.

Joining the 131 existing inductees, the 2011 honourees will be added to Canada’s Walk of Fame, which annually recognizes individuals for their achievements in various fields, including music, sport, film and television, science and innovation, in addition to the arts: literary, visual and performing.

Commemorating the 2011 inductees, the Canada’s Walk of Fame Awards will feature special guest performances and celebrity presenters.

“Each one of our inductees has made their mark on Canada’s colourful landscape and helped define to the world what it means to be Canadian,” said Peter Soumalias, President and Founding Director, Canada’s Walk of Fame. “We are thrilled to honour and celebrate our inductees’ dedication and passion to both their craft and community at this year’s ceremony.”

About Canada's Walk of Fame:

Established in 1998, Canada’s Walk of Fame (CWOF) aims to educate, inform, and inspire through the permanent celebration of achievements in Canadian music, sport, film and television as well as the literary, visual and performing arts, and science and innovation. 
In 2010, CWOF expanded to include a four-day festival of music, comedy and film featuring some of Canada’s most popular and iconic performers. The annual celebration culminates in a televised awards special that honours Canada’s finest stars from the worlds of arts, entertainment and sports.  To-date, 131 Canadians have been honoured, including Margaret Atwood, Howie Mandel, Steve Nash, Michael J. Fox and Blue Rodeo.



Anonymous said...

Well deserved! Now when is Hollywood going to get with the program and give Sandra the recognition (and movie roles) she deserves? : )

Anonymous said...

It's totally amazing that Sandra is getting this recognition. However it is also a complete downer for me to hear that the conservative government is funding a sidewalk of famous people for 500 grand and not granting 50 grand to the Summerworks Theatre Festival -- wherein the next Sandra Oh or Ryan Reynolds might appear, or just damned good fresh new theatre.

I wish Sandra would refuse the honor and highlight to the government where their priorities for arts and culture should be.

Congratulations to Sandra nonetheless!

Post a Comment

sandra oh news